The province has a total land area of 523,050 hectares representing 27 percent of the total land area of Caraga Administrative Region and about 4.07 percent and 1.71 percent of the total land area of Mindanao and Philippines, respectively. It is elongated in shape extending from the northeastern part of Carrascal to the southernmost Municipality of Lingig. It is approximately 300 kilometers in length and 50 kilometers in its widest stretch which runs from Cagwait to San Miguel. Municipal-wise, San Miguel has the biggest land area accounting for 11.08 percent (57,938 hectares) of the total provincial land area while Municipality of Bayabas has the smallest constituting about 0.64 percent (3,366 hectares) only. These are the areas left for future development of the province. Appropriate facilities and infrastructures shall be established in these areas in order to fast track its development. Of the 523,050 hectares land, only 168,544 hectares or 33 percent are classified as alienable and disposable (A and D) while 354,506 hectares or 67 percent are forest land. Tagbina has the biggest share of alienable and disposable land with 23,170 hectares or about 56.52 percent of its land area followed by Hinatuan with 20,035 hectares or 63.56 percent of its land area. Out of the 345,226 hectares, the total forestland is 91 percent (314,339 hectares) which is considered as production forest while the 9 percent (30,887 hectares) belongs to protected forest, 12.68 square kilometers are non-forest agriculture and about 15,497 hectares or 19.4 percent of the forestland are categorized as non-forest (mining) covering small scale activities. As of today, the province still has vast area of remaining old growth and mossy forest.